Drunken Craze Fest

Tonight I missed a best friends’ birthday celebration.

I also missed a night of drunken debauchery with my best friends from High School.

But you know what? It’s ok. I have the best girlfriends ever.

Because it doesn’t matter how far and how wide our lives take us. It doesn’t matter how many weeks or months pass without seeing one another, or how little we communicate.

I know that, hands down, if I need someone to talk boys, periods or fiscal crisis…I have someone I can count on.

Not just someone. Lots of someones.

And I thank god everyday for the girlfriends in my life. The ones that help remind you that you are amazing, even when you don’t feel like it. The ones who tell you that you’re gorgeous, even if you’ve packed on twenty pounds.

The ones who will hate your man when you hate him, or love him when you love him.

The ones whose children call you auntie, and who Trinity calls Auntie.

The ones who have seen you through your mistakes. Your ugliest moments. Your lies, yours truths, your naked confidences. And are here to say,

“Mary. You are amazing. I love you”.

I have the best of girl friends.

Thank you for being in my life.

“Even though we’ve changed and we’re all finding our own place in the world, we all know that when the tears fall or the smile spreads across our face, we’ll come to each other because no matter where this crazy world takes us, nothing will ever change so much to the point where we’re not all still friends.”

Leave a Reply

