Here. We. Go.

It’s been awhile since my last post.

Since I’ve been spiraling through the doldrums of a slight depression, and feeling sorry for myself over love, divorce, finances, and all the things that we make large in our lives (as is our ego-centric nature), I figured I’d pull out the perspective card and take a birds eye view of the issues surrounding me that are bigger than me. Perspective, you humbling thing.

Everyone is up in arms over the Chick-fil-A debacle. I’m not active in politics, I don’t claim to be liberal or conservative, I don’t follow debates or issues. To be really transparent, I don’t see how most political issues affect me in my day to day life.

That probably sounds apathetic…and fuck it. It IS apathetic. As I fall into the older end of Gen Y, I’ll blame that stance on the circumstances and zygotes of my birth year, and maybe with age and wisdom I’ll start noticing things beyond the tiny world I live in every minute of every day.

Tonight, I am going to sound off on the oh-so-controversial topic of Gay Marriage.

So, here’s my lists and thoughts. This is from where I’m sitting, from my own experience, and grounded in my beliefs that will continue to be shaped throughout my life’s journey. It may seem like a roundabout way to get to my conclusion…but sometimes that’s how I roll.

I don’t believe that homosexuality is a choice. I don’t see it as an abomination or an affliction.

I believe in God.

I believe that each soul arrives on Earth in its own perfection.

I can respect Jesus Christ, the same way I can respect Krishna, Muhammad, or any other religious icon brought to life in text.

I respect the Koran, the Bhaghavad-Gita and the Bible.

I also believe that all three were written, not by God Himself (Herself) but by man. In the Bible’s case, college taught me that the earliest version came about 50 years after the death of Jesus Christ.

These written works, in my opinion, should create a frame of reference. I don’t believe them to be taken literally. I don’t believe there was a flood or a Demi-god war or a Garden of Eden. I don’t think these texts were intended to be analyzed and scrutinized- line by line and word for word- to determine how we, but mostly OTHERS, should live their lives…

Chick-Fil-A company president, Dan Cathy commented that he is ‘guilty as charged’ for supporting the traditional (some reports interchange the word ‘biblical’) definition of marriage. He went on to comment,

“I think we are inviting God’s judgement on our nation when we shake our fist at him and say, ‘We know better than you as to what constitutes a marriage. I pray God’s mercy on our generation that has such a prideful, arrogant attitude to think that we have the audacity to define what marriage is all about”.

I feel sorry for Dan Cathy. For him, and anyone else, living life in fear of God’s wrath or judgement.

My God does not judge me. My faith does not keep record of my mistakes. My God does not make mistakes when consenting a soul to come here- rich or poor or gay or straight or healthy or mentally ill. Life, to me, is not a trial. God doesn’t sit bench side to my soul- gavel in hand and at the ready to hammer down and convict me for choices in life.

When I pray to God, it’s for strength, not for mercy.

And in my experience, the tradition of marriage means a 50% likelihood for divorce. Vows and promises and ceremonies- whether they are held in a church or a courthouse- wither away. Intentions falter. Heterosexual individuals ‘fail’ this nation’s ‘biblical’ sense of marriage every day. One out of every two couples.

By the time Trinity’s grown, I believe that history books will talk out about the tsunami of civil rights in reference to sexual orientation. A CEO publicly opposing homosexuals the same rights as heterosexuals will be suicide for his career and his company. Statements like the one Dan Cathy made will be as taboo as bolstering a ‘Separate but Equal’ platform.

I believe this country should legalize Gay Marriage.

I believe we are all in this shit storm together. Why make life harder than it already is?

Let’s show some love, people.

Image

Leave a Reply

