Crazier Than You!

Well, I’ve done it.

Forced myself to see a therapist, psychiatrist, and fully commit to re-establishing a healthy relationship with myself. It’s been a good, self-reflective couple of months.

First began the ending of a relationship that failed to serve my needs. Where I was not treated the way I deserve to be treated. Where the promise of change was better than the reality I faced every day. I am proud of myself for letting it go.

Next began my work on understanding what Co-Dependency is. What Addiction is. How growing up in a family with dysfunction leads to ill-equipped emotional responses and distorted self-image and self-esteem. Then came AA and sobriety and some self-reflection how often I drink, why I drink, and the way I drink. Numbing out the feelings with the guise of doing something I enjoy.

Then came the ‘positive self talk’.

“I am a very pretty and intelligent young woman.

I am an emotionally strong person and I like me a lot!” (Thanks, therapist Pat).

From there, a medication change from Celexa to Zoloft from an actual psychiatrist, not a PCP who hands out SSRI’s like candy.

I’ve been reading lots of self-help books. Staying sober. Practicing my positive affirmations. Approaching each day like there’s something new and better to discover about life, about myself, about who I am and what I truly enjoy doing when I’m not so busy shuffling around in an unhealthy relationship.

I like it!

I feel better. I have more energy. I am hopeful. I am getting there.I am patting myself on the back for admitting that I needed some help and guidance to get me out of my own rut…and I’m beginning to reap the benefits of that.

Yay progress. Feeling less crazy on the daily.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

